Vietnam launches e-visas for visitors from 40 countries

Apr 24, 2017

The Vietnamese government has announced a two-year pilot plan to launch an electronic visa system for foreign tourists visiting the country.

Under a government directive released in late January, citizens from 40 countries will be eligible to apply for the e-visas starting on February 1. Included on the list are China, Japan, South Korea, the U.S., the U.K., Germany and Sweden, all major target markets for Vietnam’s tourism sector. For the full list of eligible nationalities, click here.

To apply for e-visas, foreign citizens can access the websites or

Applicants are required to complete a form available on two separate websites (one in Vietnamese and the other in English) run by the Ministry of Public Security. They will receive an application code and will be asked to pay a non-refundable fee online.

It will take three working days for tourists to find out if their applications have been approved or not, according to the directive.

Successful applicants will be able to print off their e-visas to present when they arrive.

Visitors can touch down at any of Vietnam’s eight international airports, including Tan Son Nhat in Ho Chi Minh City, Noi Bai in Hanoi and Da Nang in the central region. They can also arrive via land at 13 international border gates, and via sea at seven ports across the country.

In November last year, Vietnam’s National Assembly overwhelmingly approved the plan to allow foreign visitors to apply online for 30-day, single-entry e-visas.

Apart from visa exemptions for tourists from the Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN), Vietnam offers 15-day visa exemptions for visitors from the U.K., France, Germany, Spain, Italy, Russia, Japan, South Korea, Denmark, Norway, Finland, Sweden and Belarus.

Tourism authorities are expecting to receive 11.5 million foreign arrivals this year, up 15 percent from 2016.

Citizens of 40 countries will be able to apply for 30-day, single-entry e-visas starting February 1.

1. Azerbaijan

2. Argentina

3. Armenia

4. Ireland

5. Poland

6. Belarus

7. Bulgaria

8. Brunei

9. South Korea

10. Germany

11. Chile

12. Colombia

13. Czech Republic

14. Cuba

15. Denmark

16. Timor Leste

17. United States of America

18. Hungary

19. Greece

20. Italy

21. Kazakhstan

22. Russia

23. United Kingdom

24. Luxembourg

25. Myanmar

26. Mongolia

27. Japan

28. Panama

29. Peru

30. Finland

31. France

32. The Philippines

33. Romania

34. Spain

35. Sweden

36. China (not applicable to Chinese e-passport holders)

37. Uruguay

38. Venezuela

39. Norway

40. Slovakia


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *